Wednesday, July 25, 2012

CFP: Ninth Asia-Pacific Conference on Conceptual Modelling (APCCM) 2013

            C A L L   F O R   R E S E A R C H   P A P E R S

         Ninth Asia-Pacific Conference on Conceptual Modelling

                              (APCCM 2013)

      January 29 - February 01, 2013 -- Adelaide, South Australia


The Asia-Pacific Conferences on Conceptual Modelling provide an annual forum for disseminating the results of innovative research in information modelling and related areas.

The ninth conference of the series will be held in January/February 2013 as part of the Australasian Computer Science Week (ACSW 2013).  ACSW 2013 will be hosted in Adelaide, at the City West Campus of University of South Australia.

Registration to APCCM will enable delegates to attend sessions in any conference participating in the Australasian Computer Science Week.


- Abstract Submission Due Date: Aug 06, 2012
- Paper Submission Due Date: Aug 13, 2012
- APCCM 2013 Best Paper Award: The best paper, as judged by the APCCM Program Committee, will receive an award of AU $500.- sponsored by the School of Information Management, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand and the School of Computer and Information Science, University of South Australia, Australia.
- APCCM 2013 Best Student Paper Award: The best student paper, as judged by the APCCM Program Committee, will receive an award of AU $500.- sponsored by CORE, Australia.  Student paper criteria are outlined on the APCCM 2013 Web-site.


The amount, complexity and diversity of information held in computer systems are constantly on the increase, and so are the requirements and challenges to be met for useful access and manipulation of this information. Conceptual modelling is fundamental to the development of up-to-date information and knowledge-based systems. The conference series aims at bringing together experts from all areas of computer science and information systems with a common interest in the subject.

APCCM invites contributions addressing current research in conceptual modelling as well as experiences, novel applications and future challenges. Topics of interest include, but are not restricted to:

   * Business, enterprise, process and services modelling;
   * Concepts, concept theories and ontologies;
   * Conceptual modelling and user participation;
   * Conceptual modelling for decision support and expert systems; digital libraries; e-business, e-commerce and e-banking systems; health care systems; knowledge management systems; mobile information systems; user interfaces; and Web-based systems;
   * Conceptual modelling of semi-structured data and XML;
   * Conceptual modelling of spatial, temporal and biological data;
   * Conceptual modelling quality;
   * Conceptual models for cloud computing applications;
   * Conceptual models for supporting requirement engineering;
   * Conceptual models in management science;
   * Design patterns and object-oriented design;
   * Evolution and change in conceptual models;
   * Implementations of information systems;
   * Information and schema integration;
   * Information customisation and user profiles;
   * Information recognition and information modelling;
   * Information retrieval, analysis, visualisation and prediction;
   * Information systems design methodologies;
   * Knowledge discovery, knowledge representation and knowledge management;
   * Methods for developing, validating and communicating conceptual models;
   * Models for the Semantic Web;
   * Philosophical, mathematical and linguistic foundations of conceptual models;
   * Reuse, reverse engineering and reengineering; and
   * Software engineering and tools for information systems development.


APCCM invites papers describing original contributions in all fields of conceptual modelling and related areas. Papers should be no more than 10 pages in length conforming to the formatting instructions as outlined below.

Each paper will be judged on its originality, significance, technical quality, relevance and presentation. The quality of accepted papers is further strengthened by a low acceptance rate of about 30%.

APCCM proceedings will be published in the CRPIT Series. Please note that it is CRPIT policy that at least one author of all accepted papers to the conferences and workshops in the series would both register and present at the event concerned. Failure to do so without a reason acceptable to the organisers of the event will result in the paper being retrospectively withdrawn from both the proceedings and all citation sources.
It is also CRPIT policy that all papers be original and not concurrently submitted elsewhere. Once again, we reserve the right to retrospectively withdraw a paper from the proceedings if we later find this not to be the case.

After the conference, authors of the best papers will be invited to submit an extended version for publication in a joint Special Issue of the Journal of Universal Computer Science (J.UCS).

Formatting Guidelines

The proceedings of this event will be published by the ACS in the CRPIT Series. The formatting requirements and resources for authors can be found on the CRPIT Authors Page together with a list of all upcoming volumes.

Electronic Submission

Submission to APCCM 2013 will be electronically only via EasyChair.  The online submission system is accessible via the APCCM 2013 Web-site ( ).


Abstract Submission:            August 06, 2012 (23:59 GMT)
Full Paper Submission:          August 13, 2012 (23:59 GMT)
Author Notification:            October 08, 2012
Camera-ready Paper Submission:  October 29, 2012
Author Registration:            November 05, 2012
Early-bird Registration:        December 03, 2012
ACSW 2013 Conferences:          January 29 - February 01, 2013


Program Committee Chairs

Flavio Ferrarotti, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
Georg Grossmann, University of South Australia, Australia

Publicity Chair

Markus Kirchberg, National University of Singapore
Marko Boskovic, Research Studios Austria, Austria

Program Committee Members

Joao Paulo A. Almeida, Federal University of Espirito Santo, Brazil
Boualem Benatallah, University of New South Wales, Australia
Marko Boskovic, Research Studios Austria
Ross Brown, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Denise de Vries, Flinders University, Australia
Gillian Dobbie, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Dragan Gasevic, Athabasca University, Canada
Sven Hartmann, Clausthal University of Technology, Germany
Brian Henderson-Sellers, University of Technology Sydney, Australia
Annika Hinze, University of Waikato, New Zealand
Marta Indulska, University of Queensland, Australia
Markus Kirchberg, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Yasushi Kiyoki, Keio University, Japan
Ryan Ko, Hewlett-Packard Labs, Singapore
Aneesh Krishna, Curtin University of Technology, Australia
Lam-Son Le, University of Wollongong, Australia
Chiang Lee, National Cheng-Kung University, Taiwan
Sebastian Link, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Jixue Liu, University of South Australia, Australia
Hui Ma, Victoria University Wellington, New Zealand
Christine Natschlaeger, Software Competence Centre Hagenberg, Austria
Shamkant Navathe, Georgia Institute Of Technology, United States
Martin Necasky, Charles University, Czech Republic
Sudha Ram, University of Arizona, United States
Jan Recker, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Motoshi Saeki, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Michael Schrefl, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria
Nigel Stanger, University of Otago, New Zealand
Markus Stumptner, University of South Australia, Australia
Ernest Teniente, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain
Riccardo Torlone, Roma Tre University, Italy
Qing Wang, Australian National University, Australia


For further information, please, refer to the APCCM 2013 Web-site at 

No comments: